Posted by: briellethefirst | September 10, 2010

Chessboard Cake


I’m writing a book on the history of Chess rules and one chapter is about making your own chess set. I thought it would be fun to make one that’s edible. This is my first attempt at a full chessboard cake. MacKenzie helped me make it from an angel-food cake mix. Instead of baking it in the usual bundt pan or loaf pans I used 2 square cake pans and sliced them in half, cutting the tops from the bottoms. Next time I think I’ll use 2 sheet pans and press them together. I used 2 packages of Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies as the pieces. I didn’t have enough pawn pieces so I just turned regular-piece cookies over for the 2nd side pawns. To avoid this yourself you’ll probably want to buy 3 or 4 packages, but since the best time to make a cake like this is a party of some kind I’m sure the extra cookies won’t go to waste. I melted chocolate chips to mark the squares but changed my mind and added more butter, powdered sugar and milk to make it into an ultra-chocolaty butter-cream frosting. I should have done it the other way since I had to keep warming it up to make it spreadable. Oh well, this was a first try so the whole point was a learning experience. Another option would be to use Devil’s food and white/vanilla icing. Instead of frosting the cake you could dust it with cocoa or powdered sugar. If the whole cake is frosted the cookies might stand up, making it easier to play if you really wanted to. This is just an idea to get us started, so if you wanted to try something like this, too, here’s the pictures.

Edible Chess Set

Andrew & Kenzie playing edible chess

Edible Chees Set

Andrew and Kenzie playing edible chess

Leave a Reply

Categories

