Posted by: briellethefirst | June 20, 2011

Coffee Shots


When I was a kid my parents always had a pot of coffee percolating on the stove. The house always smelled of the promise of a friendly cup and conversation. The friendly conversation was a given, the coffee choices were usually “mmm…fresh coffee!” or “oh, dear, pass the milk and sugar, please!” Making coffee really hadn’t changed for ages…

Pre-stove warming methods

Pre-stove warming methods

Later they acquired a coffeemaker and a microwave and entered the 20th century of culinary delights. Leftover coffee no longer had to sit on a warm butner long enough to become tar and could be re-warmed with a frozen burrito, waffle or any other miracle of modern conveniences offered in the grocer’s freezer.

While I never liked coffee it just wouldn’t be morning without the smell of coffee, so I always had some around in case I got homesick or had company. Eventually I had kids, got divorced and learned to live on 2-4 hours sleep a night…and a pot of coffee a day! Eventually my coffeemaker broke. I still had the carafe and grounds basket, though, so I just boiled water in my trusty kettle and poured it myself. Worked great. Still does, and gives me an odd bit of ‘alone time’ for meditation. The process really lends itself to a nice quiet morning ritual:

Fill the kettle, wait for the whistle to tell me it’s ready.

The pre-coffee steam Djinni

The pre-coffee steam Djinni

While I’m waiting I feed the critters and fill the grounds basket, then pour the steamy water through. Repeat til the carafe is full.

Turning water into live-giving elixir

Turning water into live-giving elixir

Pour into your favourite cup.

Happy morning mug!

Happy morning mug!

Add some sugar.

Sugar...only the real thing

Sugar...only the real thing

Then some cream/half and half or milk (never non-dairy creamer! Heaven forbid! Eauw…nasty soapy flavour!)

The beginning of coffee-clouds

The beginning of coffee-clouds

The transformation

The transformation

Enjoy your coffee-clouds and let your coffee meditation take you productively and happily into your day, no matter where that takes you.

On with the day!

On with the day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

