Posted by: briellethefirst | April 3, 2016

Quiche Tarts


Breakfast

Breakfast with pottery

I didn’t intend to write a blog post today, but breakfast from leftovers turned out so well this just happened. My chickens have been productive the past few weeks and I have leftover ham from the holidays. I bought some pie crusts for Quiche but this morning realized I still have these fillo tart shells, so breakfast was late but wonderful.

I chopped and sautéed an onion (still have leftover for dinner…if it lasts past lunch. I LOVE fried onions!)

Then I broke 2 eggs into a bowl and added pepper, thyme, basil, garlic powder and a splash of milk, whisking happily.

Then I took the fillo shells out of the freezer and cut some ham slices into small bits to fit in each one. Some sautéed onion went in on top of that, then I spooned the egg into each one, almost full. There was some left over so I fried it up in the onion oil (yum).

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

I baked them at 350 for about 10 or 15 minutes, until the egg filling set. Then salted, photographed and savoured breakfast.

When I pulled the cookie tray out of the oven I realized that a bit of spray cooking oil would have helped. If you try this you’ll be forewarned and avoid broken (but still yummy) tarts and extra scrubbing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

